h1

Selling New York

May 26, 2011

One of my favorite guilty pleasures is watching the show “Selling New York” because I enjoy having the opportunity to look at the interior of some of the most elegant and unique residences in the world. There is simply no place like New York and I think that many people enjoy dreaming of homeownership especially in the greatest City in the world. Wouldn’t that be grand?

Today I heard a report on the news that people are losing the desire to own a home. I couldn’t disagree more.

In fact, I think people are desperate to own their own home – they just can’t figure out how to do it. We still have an issue with banks willingness to lend to credit-worthy borrowers. We also have the serious challenge of too many foreclosure homes on the market with the resulting investor based cash buyer competing against the average American. It’s not a fair fight.

I know we are going to work our way through this mess because I also know that people still, after the most difficult and challenging time in real estate since the depression, would opt to own their own home whether it’s a pied-a-terre in New York or a cave in the woods…they want a home. I hope to help them find it.

Leave a Reply

