h1

My messy nest…

May 6, 2011

This was the week that I was going to get totally organized and conquer my office clutter once and for all. I have been brainwashed to believe that a clean office = a clear mind.

But business distractions have taken me off course and my office remains the same. I have at times felt guilty about my inability to keep a “Martha Stewart” creative style work space but I have decided that I have to cut myself some slack here. I work hard and if the office isn’t perfect – too bad.

One of my favorite authors and commentators was William F. Buckley, Jr., and I remember the first time I saw his office (shown above) I was shocked at the insane amount of voluminous paperwork scattered about and the overall messiness. His wife was such a fashion icon and their impeccable home was the epicenter for cultural and political events. But I like the fact that his domain (in a separate part of their home) was HIS domain. Important people had to clear a space to sit in this office. Can you imagine that? What chutzpah!

While my office is NOT this bad – I wish it were better. But I also am glad that business continues and I’m too busy to worry about my desk looking perfect. I care more about meeting my client’s needs with a well written contract. After all, a happy client is more important than knowing where I hid my stapler. So for now, I’ll enjoy the rest of the week and work on the office Monday!

Leave a Reply

