h1

To wear or not to wear…that is the question.

May 2, 2011

I have been pondering this question for some time now. What is proper business attire for today’s real estate agent?

I remember when my Mother never left home without a pair of gloves and a hat. I remember when people would dress up to get on a plane. I also remember when people would wear their Sunday best to see their physician. My how times have changed!

At my Open House this past Sunday, I wore linen slacks, a Ralph Lauren top and my trademark hat. I was also hot as the dickens (it’s almost 90 degrees in sunny Florida) and way overdressed compared to my open house guests. I might add that I was showing a home that sells for over a million dollars. But to me, listing price is irrelevant. If you are creating an image – make it a good one.

As for me, I have given up the business suits. Too many clients complained that I made them feel badly when I dressed up to show homes. I still maintain some decorum and a degree of professionalism but no flip flops for me – I don’t even own a pair.

But I do wonder where we are going with dress codes. I do wonder what other agents (and clients) think about proper business attire. I see a lot of crazy stuff going down out there and I wonder if it hurts our reputation to look so unprofessional…but then again, what IS unprofessional?

As for me, I cannot wear shorts and I can’t go out in sandals when preparing for business meetings. My sweet grandmother who used to mow her own yard in knee highs and pearls would just flip if she saw me dressed like that. I honor her by dressing like a lady – even if I feel a tad overdressed. Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

